…for they shall be comforted.

When I am most vulnerable, when I have the greatest need to grieve, there are people who I want near. They are not necessarily those that I spend the most time with, they are not necessarily those who know me best.  The ones I want near are those that grieve easily, those who are tender themselves. I really treasure those folks. I am not good at grieving, giving expression to my feelings, to my unspoken pains. I want to jump on ahead to what I think and know – just move on past. I know that is not healthy, not best.

Matthew 5:4

4“You’re blessed when you feel you’ve lost what is most dear to you. Only then can you be embraced by the One most dear to you.”

When the flood waters rise in me and their pressure builds but I cannot find the courage to break under them, when I am so tempted to fortify with thought and knowledge, sometimes God will have mercy and send someone who embraces grief, my way. They don’t have to do much or really say anything. They just have to come close, near …and something just seems to give in me.

I have a few folks like that in my life right now. God, I love them.

Leave a comment

Filed under observation

Leave a Reply

