Rescue – prayer experiment – day 19

PSALM 18:16-19

16-19 But me he caught—reached all the way
from sky to sea; he pulled me out
Of that ocean of hate, that enemy chaos,
the void in which I was drowning.
They hit me when I was down,
but God stuck by me.
He stood me up on a wide-open field;

I love this image of God as Savior –  a cosmic life guard,  if you will.

I too, was in the chaos of hate, an ocean expanse where there was no footing and no way to gain bearing. I too, have lived this very thing. I have been in that chaotic, floundering place, and had Him hear my swamped cries, recognize me there, and reach down and pull me free.

I was driving my car, lost as always in the numbing of busyness, my methodology of survival in chaos. I was driving toward Helena on 261, I don’t even know how long my ears had been under the waters, so unwilling and now so unable to hear anything from Him, even of Him? I drove to just before the light where the road to the middle school enters. I was near to the spot  where they just built the Taco Bell. For some reason, I turned on the radio and hit the auto tune bottom. The station came up WDJC. I didn’t program it such. The last sixteen or so measures of a song by Sixpence None the Richer played. I didn’t even hear any words. But somehow through my fog, I heard the sound of God. It grabbed me up and pulled me free from the funk of my assault.

Leave a comment

Filed under observation

Leave a Reply

