a king

I was walking across the drop-off drive to class. A student, handsome, an athletic star, bright, and popular tapped my shoulder and handed me a five dollar bill, “for the well.” I smiled at him. “I never knew how much this,” he looked at the five now in my hand, “could do. It’s amazing.”

“You know,” I told him, “here we don’t have a lot of power to make things better for people, especially children, but overseas, we are like kings – powerful to bring change and deliverance.” He met my eyes and held them.

That young man is all but a prince here. God, trouble his heart until only kingship is enough for him.

Leave a comment

Filed under observation

Leave a Reply

