I love…

This is something I wrote alongside of other students in our bible class yesterday. They asked me to post it, so since I won’t have to come up with anything else to post today, I will indulge them.

We use to play the “I love…” game in college. You can’t really know someone until you know what they love. Especially, if that person is you.

So…

I love watching eyes of students opening up to who they just may be.

I love the soft crumbling of leaves laid low a season underfoot and the sharp snap of the newly fallen.

I love the deep quiet after a knowing glance.

I love the tension of eternity trying to break in on time when God shifts His posture in a place.

I love the circles filling with sky as my paddle breaks the water.

I love splitting skins of grapes, the clean breaks where the flesh is full.

I love running in fields at night, unafraid of false footfalls.

I love water surging against my legs, cold flowing past and seemingly through me, in our clean, clear creek.

I love the smallness of standing in a volcano-lined riverbed.

I love wood walks alone, feeling my way toward meeting ground.

I love walking against the wind, leaning in and dragging a foot in the running waves.

I love the first crisp page of a book long anticipated.

I love the uneasy joy of scaling out the highest possible branch and holding tight upon its swaying.

I love good dirt in my hands, crumbly, wet and warm.

I love time suspended – previews of soon, now.

I love the green of grasshoppers, the blue of heron wings, the red of ladybug shells and the purple of dusk.

I love being in this class with all of you.

What do you love? Will you share it with me?


2 Comments

Filed under observation

2 responses to “I love…

  1. Morgan Holcombe

    Miss Sullivan, you word things so precisely and you speak so inspirationally. 🙂 I LOVE your writings and i love to just listen to you. It truly opens my mind to a whole new world. Thank you.

  2. Addison Barksdale

    I love and admire your ability to write. You have a true gift.

Leave a Reply

