teachers that marked us – Karley C.

Back by popular demand!

My fifth grade year, I had a wonderful, bright  teacher named Mrs. Williamson. She was one of those teachers that just lit up the room, as people say, when she walked through. If you could put  a picture in the dictionary by the word, “sweet,” she would more than likely be there. I know that sounds corny, but I honestly don;t know of a better word to describe this woman, just sweet, a kind-hearted person.

I recall this dress that she wore, pretty often actually …red with little green patterns. It was so traditional, old-timey looking, you know maybe like the old dresses that your aunt of grandma wear around the house when you visit them. Somehow, I think that dress resembled her character, like the stereotypical grandmother who has compassion for kids and a gift of just nurturing them  and always having her arms wide open, waiting for you to run up and give her a huge bear hug. Mrs. Williamson was just so accepting like that, so genuine.

She read this story to us once. The Hundred Dresses I think it was called. Toward the end, she started getting emotional. I can’t remember what had happened in the story that caused her to act like that, but that really didn’t matter at all. As she was choking up while she read, wiping tears off her face every few seconds, something inside of me was tugging and I felt it. I felt the genuity throughout the room. I realized that …it’s okay to be real around others. It’s okay to express your emotions, it’s okay to cry. During this time I was struggling with being myself. I was hiding under this mask of insecurity. I was an easy target to pick on, so I figured that not many people liked me for who I was. Mrs. Williamson showed me, not even purposely, to be who you are, to express your emotions. She showed me how to not care what other people think. I now she didn;t care that she was crying, why should she? Revealing your true character makes others appreciate you so much more . I sure did aprpeciate her.

Leave a comment

Filed under observation

Leave a Reply

