Say what you need to say.

Take all of your wasted honor
Every little past frustration
Take all of your so-called problems,
Better put ’em in quotations

Say what you need to say [x8]

Walking like a one man army
Fighting with the shadows in your head
Living out the same old moment
Knowing you’d be better off instead,
If you could only . . .

Say what you need to say [x8]

Have no fear for giving in
Have no fear for giving over
You’d better know that in the end
Its better to say too much
Then never say what you need to say again

Even if your hands are shaking
And your faith is broken
Even as the eyes are closing
Do it with a heart wide open

Say what you need to say [x24]

“…a right time to shut up and another to speak up…”

Ecc. 3: 7 (MESSAGE)

Last night I got to go out, to be with some friends…safe friends. I got to be with people who know my weaknesses and see through my games and who love me no matter what, even like me no matter what. There were people at the table who had many times listened to me say what I needed to say, and I had with honor listened, likewise, to them. It felt really good to be there with them. It was really sweet, being so known and received and together.

These folks know what I really think about lots of things: ideals, sentiments, convictions of heart that I don’t often (or need to) share. Even more important, these folks know how I feel in regard to things that matter the most to me. That’s a tighter circle isn’t it?

Being with them, remembering moments of disclosure, vulnerability and acceptance, really reminded me of  the need in my life to continually cultivate and grow relationships that lend themselves to such. Not all do, not all need to do so. But, some…some should.

1 Comment

Filed under observation

One response to “Say what you need to say.

  1. Brack

    In life people trip, most people fall, some people turn that trip into a beautiful, beautiful dance. -John Mayer

    John is the bomb.com

Leave a Reply

